Tis the Season

With Christmas rapidly approaching (and my birthday for that matter), I keep getting hounded to produce a list of things I want to find, neatly wrapped in reds and greens, under the tree on the morning of December 25th.  So I began my morning with a mug of blueberry cobbler coffee and a list.  There I sat at my kitchen table, drinking more coffee than actually writing out a list of my wants and needs.  After about fifteen long minutes, I had:

1. A one way ticket to Ireland.

2. An apartment far, far away.

3. Yet again another U2 band shirt.

4. Pheonix‘s Wolfgang Amadeus CD

5. Hmmm . . .

Needless to say, I don’t need twenty copies of the same CD, so unless I think up a few more items to clothe my now naked list, I will be stuck with just that.  And maybe a few sweaters that I will never end up wearing.  Thus begins my search for the most promising reads.

1. The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff

2. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller

3. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

4. A Friend of the Family by Lauren Grodstein

5. The Deportees by Roddy Doyle

6. The Murder Room by P.D. James

7. Waterland by Graham Swift

8. 101 Recipes for Microwave Mug Cakes by Stacey J. Miller (Did you seriously think I’d be able to overlook a book that claims a little cake in just a few minutes?)

9. A Charmed Life: Growing Up in Macbeth’s Castle by Liza Campbell

10. The Man Who Created Sherlock Holmes by Andrew Lycett

Any books on your wish list this season?

8 Responses to “Tis the Season”

  1. “Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters” Ben H. Winters
    “Guinea Pig Diaries” A.J. Jacobs
    “Unchurched” Michael Paul Turner
    “A Grief Observed” C.S. Lewis
    “To Be Told” Dan Allender
    “Pretty in Plaid” Jen Lancaster

    It’s kind of a motley selection. 🙂

  2. MUG CAKES?! That is insane!

    Also, of course I have books on my list 🙂 Half the books I want aren’t out yet though.

    “The Coral Thief” by Rebecca Stott
    “Alice Have I Been” by Melanie Benjamin
    “The Brightest Star in the Sky” by Marian Keyes
    “Rich Again” by Anna Maxted
    “The Silent Governess” by Julie Klassen
    “Time of Grace” by Gabriella West
    “Willoughby’s Return” by Jane Odiwe
    “Lover Mine” by J.R. Ward
    “Silver Borne” by Patricia Briggs
    “Token of Darkness” by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

    I could go on and on but I’ll stop there 🙂

  3. Also the snow? Awesome!

  4. wow, you really do love U2!

Leave a Reply

