Awaiting January

Every writer knows that reading enriches writing, and even if that fact were not true, it would still be a great excuse to forget the dishes and escape in a book.  I first discovered Elizabeth Kostova‘s The Historian between waitressing shifts this summer, and I spent the next few days engrossed in the lengthy vampire narrative.  I couldn’t put it down, and I even managed to sneak in a few pages between tables at work.  One night when I got home from a particularly long and stressful night, I found that I had left the book at work, and right then and there in my kitchen, I broke down and cried.  I had to wait until my work shift the next night to continue reading.  The Historian was that good.

Now Elizabeth Kostova is finally releasing her second novel, The Swan Thieves, and I am already on the waiting list for the January release.  Her first novel mingled beautiful prose in with spell-binding history and brilliant narrative, and her new novel on French Impressionism promises to be no less intoxicating.

The Swan Thieves will be released January 12, 2010.  Check out Elizabeth Kostova’s glimpse into the upcoming novel above.

2 Responses to “Awaiting January”

  1. Is it wrong I want it just because it has a beautiful cover?!

  2. Not at all. That’s how I find most of the books I read. The cover is gorgeous . . . very artful.

Leave a Reply

