Confession

I’ll admit it.  I’m a Redwall addict.  I planned on naming my first-born son Matthias years ago.  I could never get enough of swashbuckling buccaneers . . . especially if you add in a cast of furry woodland animals as characters the Brian Jacques way.  Nothing makes a novel like medieval abbeys and fearless warriors and seaweed grog (please reread sentence in a pirate accent for the full effect).  I first picked up Redwall in elementary school because of its enormous size (I’ve always been a fan of long, long books), and with Jacques’ 21st Redwall book, The Sable Quean, coming out in February, I’ve never had to put them down.  There’s nothing like medieval garb and grub.

Am I still allowed to enjoy young adult’s fantasy books?  Uh-huh.  Then why do people still laugh when I admit to being a Redwall junkie?  It’s just like reading Harry Potter or TwilightBut with animals. 

I don’t plan on giving up this series anytime soon.  Even if I do find myself sandwiched between two preteens in line for his latest novel.

4 Responses to “Confession”

  1. REDWALL! I totally remember that series. I used to love them 🙂 I still have a bunch of them, but never followed the series on. I have a friend who loves them like you- our age, still buys the new ones as soon as they come out. I should really pick them up again- I think of them as children’s books, but they really are good for all ages.

    • My best friend and I love them so much that we’re thinking of going through the series again . . . starting with Redwall. And having a book club. I just found that there’s a Redwall cookbook. It’s going on my Christmas list.

  2. Not like Twilight or HP, it’s better!
    Check out the Redwall Wiki for all sorts of information and news http://www.redwallwiki.com

Leave a Reply

