Writing in Time

I love words.  Period.  I love novels and poems and magazine articles.  I love the way newspaper print comes off on your fingers.  I love pulling out the old dictionary to sort out a definition and getting lost somewhere between recherché and sauvignon blanc just because the words roll off the tongue in such an interesting way.  In much the same way, I love listening to the lyrics of songs on and off the radio.  In my opinion, it’s where the best poetry can be found, and today my pick comes from U2’s 1984 album, The Unforgettable Fire.  There’s a reason why U2 is my favorite band.

Bad

If you twist and turn away
If you tear yourself in two again
If I could, yes I would
If I could, I would let it go
Surrender, dislocate

If I could throw this lifeless
Lifeline to the wind
Leave this heart of clay
See you walk, walk away
Into the night
And through the rain
Into the half-light
And through the flame

If I could, through myself
Set your spirit free
I’d lead your heart away
See you break, break away
Into the light
And to the day

To let it go
And so to find a way
To let it go
And so find a way

I’m wide awake
I’m wide awake
I’m not sleeping
Oh, no, no

If you should ask, then maybe
They’d tell you what I would say
True colours fly in blue and black
Blue silken sky and burning flag
Colours crash, collide in blood shot eyes

If I could, you know I would
If I could, I would let it go

This desparation
Dislocation
Separation
Condemnation
Revelation
In temptation
Isolation
Desolation

Let it go
And so to find a way
To let it go
And so find a way

Oh, no
I’m wide awake
I’m wide awake
I’m not sleeping
Oh, no no

Edge, Bono, Adam, and Larry

6 Responses to “Writing in Time”

  1. I think I could read what you write all day long. 🙂 You’ve inspired me to turn off my Pandora station for now and turn on U2!

    • One of my ambitions is to convert as many people as possible to U2 fans 🙂 So guess who has tickets to Philly’s July 12th show? I love everything about them!

  2. U2 is great. I totally don’t listen to them as much as I should. I heard you talking about them the other day in class…. who was it who hadn’t even heard of U2?! I mean, come on, they’re awesome!

    Also, I totally agree with you about lyrics. Most people don’t even realize what they’re singing.

    • When I find a really amazing song (usually U2), I like to just print out the lyrics and approach the song as a traditional piece of poetry without music. And it helps that Bono’s lyrics are always packed with biblical allusions, literary references, etc.

      Haha yes, the other day in class I was angry when that person didn’t know U2. I’m a fool, and I take U2 comments personally!

  3. Lindzoila Watson Says:

    This is aaaammmmaaaazzzzziiiinnnnggg! U2 definitely is poetry, pure poetry! This song in particular is so moving, especially when Bono sings it in suspenders! 😉

    • I knew you would think so! It was a sort of (homecoming? no) dedication to you because I posted it on your birthday. Maybe we’ll hear this song live in July.

Leave a Reply

